12 posts / 0 new
Last post
Zaianos
Zaianos's picture
Idea for AI.

Hi, newbie here (first time posting), not sure if this has been covered already but I read a post earlier where it hadn't. 

In TES, I've always noticed (and been a little bugged by) the lack of Guard's families, with the over population of guards. Especially since, taking "an arrow to the knee", means to get married, yet they live their life, patrolling, eating, or at the barracks, with no families, and such. Maybe, with this masterpiece, you could trial different things? Possibly change pointless NPCs to guards with routines, like, leave home at 8am, patrol town/paths etc, 1pm lunch time at the barracks or tavern, then back to patrol at 2pm, til 6pm where they return home for dinner, and family time, and swap wit night shift guards, or something like that.? Something to consider, anyway.

Let me know what you think.

Edit: I understand this would make Guard's 'limited', but there are always ways around this, etc.  Discuss (:

~ Zai

Edited by: Zaianos on 12/27/2013 - 07:36
Trenrommel
Trenrommel's picture
Who's to say they don't have

Who's to say they don't have families? I i've always assumed that they were kin to the other towns folk and by joining the guard they get to get out of their houses and live on their own with other guards, u know for the experience.  Or maybe by joining the guard that just have too, for safety.  That's why each house only has 1 or 2 people in it, because the kids or other members live in the barrack. :)

SquallyDaBeanz
SquallyDaBeanz's picture
Contributor
I think this is a great

I think this is a great ideas. Having almost every NPC in Morrowind really gives people (and bandits!) real weight. So having actual towns people at guards would be great. Their deaths would actually mean something if it came to that.

GendunDrup
GendunDrup's picture
I kinda like it. One thing